This town has still an old world look about it, which is enhanced by here and there an old half-timbered front or
a picturesque gable. The church, very much restored, contains some fairly good stained glass, mostly brought from
Belgium by a former vicar, and one or two brasses. In a glass-case fixed to one of the columns, is an old book of
Homilies, printed in 1683, with its chain, which up to 1835 was chained to the column.
Worth notice, too, is what may be called a double-barrel hagioscope ; for the opening through the wall is at so
slight an angle that the passage is thereby made unusually long, necessitating at the altar end a sort of
elongated pier to hold up the masonry above, the opening thus being single towards the aisle and double towards
Another peculiar feature is the fact that the nave and chancel are not in line and the orientation of the tower
differs from both. The dormer windows, too, are peculiar, giving the appearance more of a private house. Those
who have sufficient time should not fail to inspect some of the various locally called "swallows" which
are to be found between Burford Bridge and Leatherhead, and which have made the River Mole so famous. At certain
stages of the water the stream entirely disappears and reappears lower down, leaving the river bed comparatively
dry : but in flood times the capacity of the "swallows" is not sufficient to take all the water and
their action then is unseen.
A relic of the good old times, is the picturesque little inn close to the bridge called the "Running
Horse," celebrated by the Poet Laureate Skelton, in the time of Henry VIII. From this centre innumerable
lovely drives and walks can be taken ; in all directions the scenery is not only charming but singularly varied.
A walk up the valley of the Mole to Dorking would alone call a visitor to Leatherhead. Here grassy slopes and
wooded heights, with the peaceful river winding among its verdant meadows, combine to form innumerable pictures of
About a mile on the right of the road is Norbury Park, once owned by Mr. Lock; the friend of Fanny Burney, and at
the further extremity of Norbury is the pretty village of Mickleham.
The wayfarer will not fail to notice about half or three-quarters of a mile beyond Mickleham on the left, the
beautiful cedars of Juniper Hall, where Miss Burney first met her future husband, General d'Arblay, who was a visitor, among some French refugees who had settled here during the revolution.
A little farther on is the renowned Burford Bridge and its hotel, so largely frequented by tourists and trippers
as a rallying point for the attack of Boxhill.
The sketch is taken from a second and newer bridge just below the old one, showing the river as it emerges from the
contracted Mickleham valley and enters the more open reaches between this and Stoke D'Abernon.